Nicotiana Seeds

August 5, 2008

I’m starting to collect seeds from my Nicotiana ‘Fragrant Cloud’ (I think it’s N. alata) and I thought I’d post some information about the seeds and seed pods.

Both the seeds and seed pods resemble those of rose campion (Lychnis coronaria). And like L. coronaria the seeds pour right out of the pod when they are ripe.

Here’s a picture showing some ripe seed pods. If you look closely at a larger version of the photo (click the picture to see) you can actually see the seeds inside one of the pods.

When the seed pods turn brown you can tip them over and pour the seeds right into a bag or envelope. Here’s what they look like.

This is the first year that I’ve grown Nicotiana. So far I really like it. It started blooming much earlier than I thought it would and it’s still going strong. Plus the fragrance is wonderful too.

On another note, I have to apologize to my readers for wrongfully capitalizing common plant names in my posts. I probably won’t go back and change older posts but I will try and avoid that glaring grammatical error in the future. Thank you for politely enduring!

4 Responses to “Nicotiana Seeds”

  1. lacey Says:

    Nicotiana gets pretty big, doesn’t it? I became intrigued with it after seeing some in a magazine, but I’m not sure that it would be a good bet in my yard. How is it doing in yours?

  2. Joshua Says:

    Yes it does (at least bigger than I thought it would). Mine are probably about 4 feet tall in a cluster of 3 (1 foot spacing). The whole group is probably about 4 feet wide. I had to put a stake in the middle because they were starting to lean away from the center too much. Needless to say, they are definitely overcrowding their neighbors (I’ll only let one grow in that spot next year).

    All that being said, they are definitely one of my favorite new additions this year. I will be adding more next year and giving them plenty of room.

  3. MrBrownThumb Says:

    Joshua,

    I just saw and replied to your comment about the Bells of Ireland plant.

    mrbrownthumb.blogspot.com/2007/06/bells-of-ireland.html

    Stop by again and let me know what light conditions you grew yours under. I wonder if we both had similar results.

    I forgot to grow any nicotiana in the garden this year but maybe next year. Very nice plant, huh?

  4. Joshua Says:

    MrBrownThumb,

    Yes, Nicotiana is a very nice plant. Judging by the number of seeds it’s been dropping lately I have a feeling that I’ll be growing it again next year whether I like it or not!


Leave a Reply

