Passion Fruit!

October 6, 2008

Wow! Where did summer go? We finally had some rain the other day and it looks like summer is gone for good (the last rain we had before that was in early June). Along with the cooler weather I’ve been venturing out in the garden a little more. Back in mid-August I had everything in pretty good shape and sat back to enjoy the fruits of my labor (big mistake, as most gardeners know). After that, work and life took over and the garden took a back seat for a while. Come mid-September boy did I have my work cut out for me…

But now I mostly have everything under control and despite my lack of involvement most everything in the garden is thriving (some things are thriving a little more than I’d like).

One neat thing that I noticed a couple of weeks ago is that my passion flower vine has some fruit! Here’s proof:

DSC_0070

This is something that I never expected to see but I was pleasantly surprised. There are three passion fruits on the vine right now and they are all within a foot of each other. My best guess is that a pollinator came visiting from a vine up the street (about a quarter mile away). It seems like it’s probably getting too cool now for them to ripen though (the fruits haven’t changed much since I first noticed them). Of course, the vine is still blooming as much as it has all summer.

DSC_0020

6 Responses to “Passion Fruit!”

  1. Todd Says:

    I’ve enjoyed perusing your blog and thought you might be interested in a gardening project I’m working on. It’s an online community/gardening tutorial site focused on the rogue valley. We’d love to hear your input and thoughts on the idea!

  2. Joshua Says:

    Thanks for pointing out your site. I look forward to seeing that community grow. I’ll make sure and hang around to see if there’s anything I can contribute.

    • Todd Says:

      Hey Josh,

      Just wanted to know if you’d checked out our site lately? Any opinions, advice, etc. on how we can continue to improve it would be most welcome! If you’re interested in continuing your blog, maybe you’d enjoy posting on our site? If you’re interested shoot me an email and let me know!

      -Todd

  3. Joanna Says:

    Hi Joshua,

    I found your blog poking around for Southern Oregon blogs, and discovered that my partner (Todd) already got to you! I’m putting together a list of blogs for the Rogue Valley Gardener, and I wondered if you plan on starting to write again on yours. I’d like to link to you, but I won’t if you’re not going to update.

    If you’d ever like to write for us, please send me an email! Our gardening community is also live (after a major site redesign over the summer) and I hope you’ll check us out.

    Take care!
    Joanna

    • Joshua Says:

      Hi Joanna,

      It’d probably be best to not list it on your site. Unfortunately I don’t have plans to write more anytime soon 😦 I’ll definitely let you know if I have something to contribute to your site though!

      Josh

  4. Joanna Says:

    Thanks for getting back to me! That’s too bad about not writing. You’re really good, and your photography is stunning! Please do be in touch if you have the hankering to write a little something now and then. Our door’s always open.


Leave a Reply

